The Seven Principles of Spiritualism
The philosophy of Spiritualism is founded upon seven basic principles which were provided through the mediumship of one of Spiritualism’s greatest pioneers, Emma Hardinge Britten. She was inspired in 1871 by the communicating spirit of Robert Owen (the founder of the Co-operative movement).

These Seven Principles, act as guidelines for the development of a personal philosophy on how to live one’s life, and are stated as follows:-

  1. The Fatherhood of God
  2. The Brotherhood of Man
  3. The Communion of Spirits and the Ministry of Angels
  4. The continuous existence of the human soul
  5. Personal responsibility
  6. Compensation and retribution hereafter for all the good and evil deeds done on earth
  7. Eternal progress open to every human soul

The Seven Principles are legally accepted and lawfully recognised definitions of the religious philosophy of Spiritualism.

Spiritualism has it's own act of Parliament and is the oldest religion in the world.

The following link takes you to a brief explanation of the above Principles on the Spiritualists' National Union (SNU) website:-
Our Principles explained

Thank you for visiting our website, we look forward to seeing you at one of our services or events.

Community Web Kit provided free by BT
Cookies and Privacy | Charity Number: 261898